About Us

Dr. Joy Smith

Dr. Joy B. Smith Principal Joy_Smith@hcpss.org
Dr. Joy B. Smith, comes to Ilchester with 22 years of experience in education. Dr. B. Smith has 11 years of experience in an administrative capacity, most recently as the Principal of the Bayside 6th Grade Campus - part of the Virginia Beach City Public School System.

Dr. Mariah Carr

Dr. Mariah Carr Assistant Principal Mariah_Carr@hcpss.org
Dr. Mariah Carr, comes to us from Waterloo Elementary School in Howard County where she was most recently the Reading Specialist. She has a total of 16 years in education, with 8 years in the Howard County Public School System.

School Overview


It is our vision to create life-long learners who possess the skills, confidence, and knowledge to meet the challenges that they face today and beyond!


The mission of Ilchester Elementary School is to create a safe and nurturing learning environment that meets the academic needs of all of our learners, as we strive to inspire and guide students to become caring, responsible, independent, and productive members of our diverse community.

Board of Education Representative

Howard County public schools are divided into school clusters, which are assigned to individual Board members to facilitate school visitations, attend special events, and provide a point of contact for each school community. View all BOE school cluster assignments.

IES BOE Representative: Christina Delmont-Small